Favorite Quotes on Books and Reading

"A book is a gift you can open again and again." Garrison Keillor

Literature is a textually transmitted disease, normally contracted in childhood.” Jane Yolen

"It is what you read when you don't have to that determines what you will be when you can't help it." Oscar Wilde

"Books have furnished, burnished, and enabled my life." Julia Keller

Saturday, January 20, 2018

2018 Book 20: SUNDAY SILENCE by Nicci French

Sunday Silence by Nicci French
ISBN: 9780062676689 (trade paperback)
ISBN: 9780062676696 (ebook)
ISBN: 9780062856890 (digital audiobook)
ASIN: B071RBDHKM (Kindle edition)
Publication date: January 9, 2018 
Publisher: William Morrow


It started with Monday. But it doesn't end with Sunday.
Read Sunday Silence, the new novel in the series that LOUISE PENNY calls "fabulous, unsettling, and riveting"— and brace yourself for the breathtaking series finale in summer 2018.


Lover of London, gifted psychologist, frequent police consultant — Frieda Klein is many things. And now she's a person of interest in a murder case. A body has been discovered in the most unlikely and horrifying of places: beneath the floorboards of Frieda's house.
The corpse is only months old, but the chief suspect appears to have died more than seven years ago. Except as Frieda knows all too well, he's alive and well and living in secret. And it seems he's inspired a copycat…
As the days pass and the body count rises, Frieda finds herself caught in a fatal tug-of-war between two killers: one who won't let her go, and another who can't let her live.
Crackling with suspense, packed with emotion, Sunday Silence is a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Elizabeth George and Paula Hawkins. 


Add to Goodreads badge


Frieda Klein's home is a crime scene when the body of a private detective is found under her floorboards. Then she receive's a phone call from her niece saying "come get me," but Chloe doesn't know where she is. Apparently, Chloe had been abducted three days earlier and released in a local graveyard. Why? To antagonize her aunt, of course. This is followed by her good friend and mentor, Reuben, who was recently diagnosed with cancer, is found badly beaten in his home. After a brief disappearance, Josef returns with his youngest son Alexei in tow and then his son is abducted and returned with a message for Frieda. And adding insult to injury, one of her former patients is murdered, her former co-worker, Jack Dargan, is beaten up, and the police commissioner is fired and blames her. The only spot of good news out of all of this is that everyone finally believes her when she tells them that Dean Reeves is still alive and responsible for the body under her floorboards. Dean also sends a message via Alexei that he "is" responsible for that abduction but not for the beatings and other things going on. Is it possible there are two serial killers targeting Frieda Klein? How can she protect her family and friends and stay alive while the body count is constantly building and another person is missing? Will they be able to find the missing person before it is too late?

I had the pleasure of reading and reviewing Dark Saturday (which I thoroughly enjoyed) last year and was honored to receive a copy of Sunday Silence to review. Let me see if I can sum up my reaction to Sunday Silence in a few brief words, WOW! This was an amazingly fast-paced,  engaging, and enjoyable read for me and one that I finished in a few short hours despite an ever-increasing migraine (thank you triptan medicines). Seriously, I couldn't put this book down. The authors have crammed quite a bit into this taut psychological thriller, such as murder, suspense, illegal immigration, battery, abduction, family drama, friendship drama, workplace drama, psychological manipulation, and more (read the book!). The one phantom boogie man that has been a constant in the Frieda Klein series is Dean Reeves and although he doesn't quite come out of the shadows in Sunday Silence, he does make his presence known and packs quite a punch towards the end of the story (no I won't tell you how - read the book!). This is the seventh book in this series and apparently, the series will be coming to an end with the eighth installment due out later this year. I, for one, will be sad to say goodbye to Frieda Klein and her adventures, but until then I will continue reading (and yes, rereading the earlier books). If you've read any of the books in the Frieda Klein series then you'll definitely want to read Sunday Silence to see what's happening next. If you haven't read any of the books in this series and you enjoy psychological suspense, then I strongly encourage you to grab a copy of Sunday Silence along with the other books in this series, set aside a few weekends and read, read, read! Not sure about psychological suspense or unsure what all the hoopla is all about, start with Blue Monday and work your way up to Sunday Silence and then trust me, you'll understand.

Disclaimer: I received a free print review copy of this book from the publisher. I was not paid, required, or otherwise obligated to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."


Meet the author


Nicci French is the pseudonym of English wife-and-husband team Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. Their acclaimed novels of psychological suspense have sold more than 8 million copies around the world.


Follow them on Facebook and Twitter.






This review and tour brought to you by TLC Book Tours


Buy the Book


Available from                 BookDepository     |     Alibris
icon


Support Independent Bookstores - Visit IndieBound.org











Sunday Silence: A Novel

Sunday Silence: A Novel


icon
icon

Sunday Silence Audiobook


Sunday Silence


icon

icon


Sunday Silence : A Novel

2 comments:

  1. It's impressive when a book can keep your attention through a migraine! So glad you really got into this one!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a really strong series!

    ReplyDelete