Favorite Quotes on Books and Reading

"A book is a gift you can open again and again." Garrison Keillor

Literature is a textually transmitted disease, normally contracted in childhood.” Jane Yolen

"It is what you read when you don't have to that determines what you will be when you can't help it." Oscar Wilde

"Books have furnished, burnished, and enabled my life." Julia Keller

Saturday, June 28, 2014

Book 228: FACEOFF Review


FACEOFF edited by David Baldacci
ISBN: 9781476762067 (hardback)
ISBN: 9781476762081 (ebook)
ASIN: B00GEEB3WK  (Kindle edition)
Publication date: June 3, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster


For the first time ever the world's greatest thriller characters meet head-to-head in 11 electrifying stories.
Where else will you be able to read about Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme meets John Sandford's Lucas Davenport? Fans of Steve Berry's Cotton Malone and James Rollins' Gray Piece have waited for years to see those characters together. Then there's Lee Child's Jack Reacher meeting up with Joseph Finder's Nick Heller in a bar in Boston. Steve Martini's Paul Madriani becoming entangled with Linda Fairstein's Alex Cooper. Plus, you can't forget the ever-odd Aloysius Pendergast coming face to face with the scary world of R.L. Stine.
In an unprecedented collaboration, twenty-three of the world's bestselling and critically acclaimed thriller writers have paired their series characters in an eleven-story anthology curated by the International Thriller Writers (ITW). Edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author David Baldacci, FACEOFF is a who's who of not only the most beloved contemporary thriller writers, but also their iconic characters--putting them head-to-head with their most worthy opponents.
As worlds collide, the characters you think you know best are thrown into unpredictable situations and partnered with, pitted against, and in some cases, romantically entangled with, characters you'd never suspect–and some that you would. With introductions to the stories that describes the writers, their characters, and a bit about the story's creation, FACEOFF is truly a treasure trove for thriller fans.

Rhymes with Prey is the short story that features Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs from Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series and Lucas Davenport from John Sandford's Prey series. I've read all of the Lincoln Rhymes books in the past and am a huge fan, but this was the first time I've read anything by John Sandford. (Yes, his books are going on my TBR list!) As with the other stories in this anthology, this was a fast-paced and masterful story. Lucas Davenport has been asked to come to New York to assist his friend, NYPD officer Lily Rothenburg in an investigation of a series of murders. Lily fears that these drug-related murders of Latino women may be affiliated with one of the NYPD's Narcotics squad. Since she isn't quite sure who she can trust in-house, she has requested Lucas to assist. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs have been dealing with the forensic evidence from these murders. This two-pronged approach to the investigation quickly reveals that there may be an artistic link to the murders, in addition to the possible police link. All four are pushed to race against the clock as political pressure is applied to the department to quickly solve the case. Can they bring in a suspect, the right suspect, and close the case before the investigation becomes a witch hunt?

Rhymes with Prey was, simply speaking, an amazing read. It was impossible to tell where one writer left off and the other began. The authors were able to provide just the right amount of background into each character to make them familiar to the reader. The action was nonstop and wholly believable. I actually read FACEOFF in one sitting even though I was fighting off a migraine episode. (Yes it is simply that good.)

I'm sure most of you have realized by now that I really enjoy reading mystery-suspense-thrillers. What you may now know is that I'm not really a big fan of short stories or anthologies. However, when you're given the opportunity to read a collection of short stories featuring some of the best authors and characters in thrillerdom you obviously say "YES!" I just need to add that reading FACEOFF has changed my attitude toward short stories and anthologies for the good. The best thing is I now have a slew of new-to-me authors to begin reading and tons of books to add to my TBR list. If you are a fan of any of these thriller writers or just a fan of short story anthologies, then FACEOFF is a must read.


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free for review purposes from the publisher via Media Muscle | BookTrib. I was not paid, required or otherwise obligated to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."


Buy the Book

Available at:     BookDepository     |     Alibris
icon







icon

icon


icon

icon



No comments:

Post a Comment